

To: Consultees

Dear Sir/Madam

Ports Governance
Maritime Commerce & Infrastructure
Department for Transport
Zone 2/32
Great Minster House
33 Horseferry Rd
London SW1P 4DR
E-mail:
harbourdirections@dft.gsi.gov.uk

Web Site: www.gov.uk/dft

24 October 2016

HARBOURS ACT 1964 SECTION 40A: CONSULTATION ON A SECOND ROUND OF APPLICATIONS FROM HARBOUR AUTHORITIES TO BE DESIGNATED WITH THE POWER TO GIVE HARBOUR DIRECTIONS

The Harbours Act 1964 was amended by section 5 of the Marine Navigation Act 2013 which inserted new sections 40A-40D inclusive which provide a mechanism by which the Secretary of State may, by order, designate harbour authorities with the power to give harbour directions to better regulate shipping and improve safety within their harbour area.

This consultation seeks your views on the applications received from statutory harbour authorities for 5 harbours in England and 1 non-fishery harbours in Wales requesting to be designated with the power to give harbour directions.

As noted on page 2 of the Duchy of Cornwall's application in respect of St Mary's Harbour, Isles of Scilly (Annex D-1) it has a pending application for a harbour revision order (HRO) which if made would confer the Duchy with the powers of general direction. The harbour directions powers available under section 40A of the HA 1964 are of the nature of general directions. In view of this the Department and the Duchy will closely monitor progress of the HRO and this application to ensure that the powers granted are not duplicated.

The consultation will close on Monday 5 December 2016.

Responses and any questions or comments should be sent to the following e-mail address:

harbourdirections@dft.gsi.gov.uk

When responding, please quote "Harbour directions DfT 2016-19" and the name(s) of the relevant harbour(s). If you wish you may use the optional response document that has been uploaded with the consultation document on the Department's website.

Alternatively responses may be sent by post to Caroline Wall at the above address. Paper copies of the consultation documentation are also available on request.

Yours faithfully

CAROLINE WALL
Port Governance
Maritime Commerce & Infrastructure Division

HARBOUR DIRECTIONS POWER: LIST OF 31 HARBOURS THE STATUTORY HARBOUR AUTHORITIES (SHAs) FOR WHICH HAVE APPLIED TO BE DESIGNATED

```
Associated British Ports (ABP) Goole<sup>P</sup>
ABP Grimsby<sup>P</sup>
ABP Hull<sup>P</sup>
ABP Immingham<sup>P</sup>
ABP Barrow<sup>P</sup>
ABP Fleetwood<sup>P</sup>
ABP Garston<sup>P</sup>
ABP Ipswich P
ABP Kings Lynn<sup>P</sup>
ABP Lowestoft<sup>P</sup>
ABP Plymouth (Mill Bay) P
ABP Silloth<sup>P</sup>
ABP Teignmouth (Quays) P
ABP Barry WP
ABP Cardiff WP
ABP Newport (South Wales) WP
ABP Port Talbot WP
ABP Swansea WP
Cattewater
Chichester<sup>T</sup>
Crouch<sup>1</sup>
Dart<sup>T</sup>
Falmouth Docks and Engineering Company<sup>P</sup>
Falmouth Harbour Commissioners<sup>T</sup>
Fowev
Hayle<sup>P</sup>
Mostyn<sup>P</sup>
Peel Ports (PP) Manchester Ship Canal<sup>P</sup>
PP Hevsham<sup>P</sup>
Salcombe<sup>LA</sup>
Sutton (Plymouth)P
```

KEY

w = Welsh non-fishery harbours

P = Private company-owned harbours - 24

T = Trust ports (independent statutory bodies with no shareholders or owners) – 7

LA = local authority-owned harbour (South Hams District Council) - 1

n.b.

- (1) the Scottish Ministers are responsible for designating SHAs for Scottish harbours
- (2) the Welsh Ministers are responsible for designating SHAs for Welsh fishery harbours