HONORARY AWARDS 2008

The Queen was graciously pleased to approve the following honorary British awards in 2008:

THE MOST DISTINGUISHED ORDER OF ST MICHAEL AND ST GEORGE

CMG

M Claude MANDIL For services to energy and climate change policy

THE MOST EXCELLENT ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (CIVIL DIVISION)

KBE

Mr Sammy OFER For services to UK maritime heritage

Dr Jean-Pierre GARNIER For services to the pharmaceutical industry

CBE

Professor Costas GRAMMENOS OBE For services to teaching and research

Mr Francisco Alberto ITZAINA SANCHEZ For services to UK-Brazil commercial relations

Dr Seung-Han LEE For services to UK-Korean commercial relations

Mr Ravi NARAYANAN For services to providing water and sanitation facilities for poor communities

Mr Subramanian RAMADORAI For services to UK-India economic relations

Mr Daniel Milton ROONEY For services to the Northern Ireland peace process

Mr Raphael VERMEIR For services to the energy industry

Professor Thomas Joseph WALLEY For services to medicine

OBE

Dr (Robert) Darryl BANKS For services to the Rhodes and Marshalls Scholarships Dr (Janet) Susan CHRISTIE For services to the environment

Ms Mary Patricia CROWLEY For services to children and families in the UK

Mr John FITZPATRICK For services to peace and reconciliation in Northern Ireland

Dr Albert HONG For services to UK-Singapore business relations

Ms Deborah JAMIESON For services against domestic violence

Ms Norma JARBOE For services to social inclusion

Dr Ashok KHOSLA For services to rural development in India

Mr Leslie KOO For services to British business

Mr Hugh Michael KOWARSKY For services to the British Embassy in Israel

Mrs Tiiu-Mai LOKO For services to the promotion of English language and culture in Estonia

Mr Guiseppe Toni MASCOLO For services to hairdressing

Professor Paul McMahan MATTHEWS For services to neuroscience

Dr Daleep Satyanand MUKARJI For services to development charities

Professor Pauline B N ONG For services to healthcare

M. Jean-Marc PUISSESSEAU For services to UK-French commercial relations

Mr Alan George Windsor ROOT For services to wildlife film-making

Mr István VARGA For services to UK-Hungary commercial relations

MBE

Dr Rohit BARMAN For medical services to the British Deputy High Commission and British community in Mumbai

Mr Joël-Guy BATTEUX For services to UK-French relations

Dr Narinder Pal Singh CHAWLA For services to consular assistance for British Nationals in India

Ms Paula Maria Pimentel Peito DE OLIVEIRA CRUZ For services to education and culture on behalf of the British Council in Portugal

Miss Ligia Isabel Jorge FERREIRA For services to the community in South Lincolnshire

Mr Saroj Kumar GURUNG For services to the British High Commission, New Delhi

Mrs Etsuko Muto KAWASAKI For services to the British fashion industry

Mrs Noreen KELLET For services to the multicultural community in Luton, Bedfordshire

Mr Edward KIRWAN For services to disadvantaged people in East Belfast

Mrs Francisca J J M KNOWLES For services to skills training in the hospitality industry and to charity

Mr Takeharu NAKAJIMA For services to Wales-Japan business relations

Mrs Pratima PANDE For services to British-Nepali relations

Mr Sher Bahadur PUN For services to the Department for International Development in Nepal

Mr John Carroll REES For services to British interests in Chile

Brigadier Misbah al SADIQ For services to the Khartoum Cheshire Home and disabled children

Professor Angel STANKOV For services to British music in Bulgaria

Ms Hizuru TAKAMI For services towards the promotion of UK-Japan youth links in the NGO sector Lt Col Eiliv Jørgen THORHEIM For services to the maintenance of Commonwealth War Graves in Norway

Ms Sharon Fae WITHERSPOON For services to social science

STATE VISITS

THE MOST HONOURABLE ORDER OF THE BATH

GCB

HE Mr Nicolas SARKÖZY President of France Inward State Visit, March 2008

HE Mr Abdullah GÜL President of the Republic of Turkey State Visit to Turkey, May 2008

GUEST OF GOVERNMENT VISITS

THE MOST DISTINGUISHED ORDER OF ST MICHAEL AND ST GEORGE

GCMG

HE Mr Shimon PERES President of Israel