

December 2011

#### **GAMBLING COMMISSION – four new Commissioners**

John Penrose, the Minister for Tourism and Heritage, has appointed Robin Dahlberg, Anthony Lilley OBE, Walter Merricks CBE and Dr Graham Sharp as Commissioners on the Board of the Gambling Commission. Their terms of appointment all commence on 1 January 2012, for five years in the case of Mr Dahlberg and Mr Merricks, and for four years in the case of Mr Lilley and Dr Sharp.

# **Robin Dahlberg**

Robin Dahlberg is the Vice Chair of the Security Industry Authority (2003 - ), a public appointment for which he receives £18,320 in return for 66 days a year. He is also a Board Member of the Health and Safety Executive (2007 - ), a public appointment for which he receives £16,781 in return for 25-30 days a year. Both of these public appointments come to an end on 31 March 2013. He was formerly a Board Member of the Local Better Regulation Office (2007-2010) and a Lay Member of the Advisory Panel on Standards for the Planning Inspectorate (2004-2010). He was this year appointed Chair of Orbit Heart of England Housing Association, and a Non-executive Board member of Orbit Group Ltd. He has worked extensively with Citizens Advice since 2003, and is currently a Trustee of its Pension and Assurance Plan. He is also the Treasurer of Jubilee Gardens Trust, and was previously Vice Chair of Waterloo Community Development Group and a Trustee of Florence Nightingale Museum Trust. His earlier professional experience involved IT management systems and internet security.

## **Anthony Lilley OBE**

Anthony Lilley is the Chief Creative Officer and CEO of Magic Lantern Productions Ltd, a position he has held since 1999. He is a Visiting Professor in the Centre for Excellence in Media Practice at Bournemouth University (2009 - ), and a Non-executive Director of Zespa Media Ltd (2010 - ). As well as advising a wide range of public sector organisations including NESTA and Arts Council England concerning the use of technology in the arts and media, he is a Patron of UK Media Literacy Taskforce, a Member of the OFCOM Content Board and of the British Screen Advisory Council, a Trustee of English National Opera, and Chairman of Lighthouse, the digital culture agency. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of the Arts and former Visiting Professor at the University of Oxford. He was awarded the OBE in 2008 for services to media and creative industries. He holds no other public appointments.

#### **Walter Merricks CBE**

Walter Merricks is a solicitor. He is currently Chairman of the Office of Health Professions Adjudicator (2009 - ), and Chairman of the Trustee Board at the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges (2011 - ). He is also a Board Member of Ombudsman Services Ltd (2010 - ) and Service Complaint Adjudicator for the Legal Ombudsman (2011 - ). He was Chief Ombudsman of the Financial Ombudsman Service (1999-2009), and was previously Insurance Ombudsman (1996-1999). He had been Assistant Secretary-General at The Law Society (1985-1996) following an earlier career as a lecturer in law and in legal journalism. From 2002-2008 he was a Board Member of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority, including periods as its Deputy Chairman and Interim Chairman. He was awarded CBE in 2007 for his contribution to the financial services industry. He holds no other public appointments.



# **Dr Graham Sharp**

Dr Graham Sharp is a member of the Accounts Commission for Scotland, a public appointment for which he receives £6216 per year in return for dedicating two days per month to the role. He originally trained as a chartered accountant with Thomson Mclintock (now KPMG) in Glasgow. He possesses a wealth of private sector experience drawn from senior positions in the financial field and worked in the City of London for many years. He has held a number of roles at Board level which has included being on the Board of the leading merchant bank Samuel Montagu and being a founding director of the commercial property investment company Minerva. He was a trustee of Victoria Convalescent Trust.

## Background

The Gambling Commission was established on 1st October 2005. The Commission is an independent regulator for all commercial gambling in Great Britain, except the National Lottery and spread betting. The Commission's work is set in the context of the three statutory licensing objectives:-

- 1. to keep gambling free from crime;
- 2. to ensure that gambling is conducted in a fair and open way; and
- 3. to protect children and the vulnerable from harm.

The Commission also has a duty to advise central and local government on the impact of gambling and its regulation. Commissioners devote approximately one day per week to this work, and in return they receive £275 per day.

The Government has announced its intention to merge the Gambling Commission and the National Lottery Commission through the Public Bodies Bill. Both bodies are independent non-departmental public bodies (NDPBs) sponsored by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport. The National Lottery Commission regulates the National Lottery in the United Kingdom.

Appointments to the Gambling Commission are made by the Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport, and follow the OCPA Code of Practice. All public appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for political activity in the last five years (if any declared) to be made public, upon appointment and also upon reappointment. Mr Dahlberg, Mr Lilley, Mr Merricks and Dr Sharp have all declared no political activity in the UK in the last five years.