1 October 2012

Olympic Delivery Authority Board Re-appointments

The Olympic Authority Chairman, Sir John Armitt, Deputy Chairman, Sir Roy McNulty, and Board Members, Lorraine Baldry, Neale Coleman, David Fison, Christopher Garnett and David Taylor CBE, have been re-appointed to the Olympic Delivery Authority Board from 1 October 2012 to 31 March 2014.

It is anticipated that the Olympic Delivery Authority will be dissolved in March 2014, following the completion of its remaining work. This includes the transformation of the Olympic Village into residential houses and apartments, fitting new kitchens and removing partitions, and closing out more than £7 billion of London 2012 contracts.

Sir John Armitt CBE

Sir John Armitt CBE FREng FICE, was appointed Chairman of the Olympic Delivery Authority on 1 September 2007. Sir John was previously Chief Executive of Network Rail from October 2002 and Chief Executive of Railtrack plc from December 2001. He has extensive experience in the building, civil engineering and industrial construction markets.

Sir John received a Knighthood in the New Year Honours List 2012 for his services to engineering and construction.

Sir Roy McNulty CBE

Sir Roy McNulty CBE is a Non-Executive Director of Gatwick Airport Limited. He chaired Advantage West Midlands from 2009 to 2012 and was also Chairman of Ilex urc, the regeneration company for Derry-Londonderry, until earlier this year, and of the Rail Value for Money Study sponsored by the Department of Transport and the Office Rail Regulation.

Lorraine Baldry

Lorraine Baldry is Chairman of London & Continental Railways Ltd, Inventa Partners Ltd and of Tri-Air Developments Ltd. She is also a Governor at The University of the Arts London and a Director of Circle Holdings plc.

Neale Coleman

Neale Coleman is Advisor on London 2012 for London Mayor Boris Johnson. Neale has led work on the Olympic and Paralympic Games in the Greater London Authority since 2000. He was a Board member of the bid company, London 2012; co-chaired the Olympic Delivery Group, which had responsibility for leading preparations for the Games prior to the creation of the Olympic Delivery Authority, has been a Board Member of the ODA since its creation and leads the 2012 team in the Greater London Authority which has had responsibility for Legacy and Games Delivery and for the 2012 City Operations programme.

David Fison

David Fison is Chief Executive of Osborne, a family-owned construction business. He has over 35 years experience working in the construction sector..

Christopher Garnett

Christopher Garnett is a Director of Anglian Water Services Ltd and Aggregate Industries Ltd. He is a member of the Board of Transport for London and serves on the National Railway Museum Advisory Board. He was Chairman of GNER from 2004 to 2006.

David Taylor CBE

David Taylor CBE is one of the country's leading exponents of urban regeneration and he has worked extensively in the public, private and voluntary sectors.

He is Chairman of BL Canada Quays Ltd, a joint venture with British Land Plc currently developing 900 new homes and mixed-use space in Southwark.

Background

- 1. Appointments to the Olympic Delivery Authority (ODA) are made by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport under the terms of the London Olympic Games and Paralympic Games Act, 2006 (the Act). All reappointments are from 1 October 2012 to 31 March 2014.
- 2. The ODA is a non-Departmental Public Body (NDPB) accountable to the Secretary of State and to Parliament. The Act requires the Mayor of London to be consulted on board appointments.
- 3. All posts are remunerated as follows: Chairman £71,430 1 day per week; Deputy Chairman, daily rate of £1,015; Members, £10,150 per annum and additional remuneration at daily rates of £761.25 (board committee chairs) or £507.50 (board committee members) for work outside of the core requirements.
- 4. These reappointments were carried out in accordance with the OCPA Code of Practice for Public Appointments. Appointments and reappointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process; no declared political activity has been undertaken during the past five years.
- 5. Five other Members stood down from the board at the end of their terms, on 30 September 2012: Tony Ball; Stephen Duckworth OBE; Baroness Morgan of Huyton; Kumar Muthalagappan OBE; Sir Nicholas Serota.
- 6. More information about the Board members is available on the London 2012 website.