Defra Board Minutes: 4 March 2019

Board members in attendance were

Michael Gove Secretary of State

Thérèse Coffey
David Rutley
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Clare Moriarty
Permanent Secretary

• Tamara Finkelstein Director General, EU Exit Delivery

Sonia Phippard Director General, Marine, Natural Environment &

Rural

Sarah Homer Interim Chief Operating Officer

David Kennedy Director General, Food, Farming, & Biosecurity

Shaun Gallagher Director General, Strategy Delivery

Heather Smith Group Finance Director

Henry Dimbleby Lead Non-Executive Director

Colin Day
Elizabeth Buchanan
Lizzie Noel
Ben Goldsmith
Emma Howard Boyd
Non-Executive Director
Non-Executive Director
Non-Executive Director
Non-Executive Ex-Officio

Apologies were received from

Lord Gardiner
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Also in attendance were

Emily Miles
Director EU Exit Domestic & Constitutional Affairs

Toby Nation Group Communications Director

John Curnow Director of Analysis

Sally Warren Director EU Exit Preparedness and Response

Caroline Crowther Director of Strategy

Andrew Pattison Interim Group Finance Director

Secretary of State's Private Office

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State's Private Office

Permanent Secretary's Office

Board Secretariat

Declarations of Interest and minutes from the previous meeting

There were no new declarations of interest. The minutes of the previous meeting held on 24 January 2019 were agreed.

Defra's April-June EU Exit Planning

The Board discussed the current planning scenarios, including for a potential no deal exit; a short extension to Article 50; a negotiated settlement; and longer-term uncertainty.

Readiness for 29 March No Deal Exit

The Board discussed the current status of Defra projects designed to prepare for a potential no deal exit from the EU plus the preparedness of industry for EU exit.