Defra Board Minutes: 5 November 2018

Board Members in attendance were:

- Michael Gove •
- Secretary of State Minister of State
- George Eustice
- Therese Coffey Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Parliamentary Under Secretary of State David Rutley Lord Gardiner
 - Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Permanent Secretary
- Clare Moriarty
- Betsy Bassis
- Tamara Finkelstein
- Heather Smith
- Group Finance Director
- Henry Dimbleby Lead Non-Executive Director Non-Executive Director
- Colin Day Ben Goldsmith
 - Non-Executive Director Non-Executive Director
- Elizabeth Buchanan Non-Executive Ex-Officio
- Emma Howard-Boyd
- Andrew Sells

Apologies received from:

- Shaun Gallagher Director General, Strategy Delivery
- Lizzie Noel

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Ex-Officio

Director General, Chief Operating Officer

Director General, EU Exit Delivery

Also in attendance were:

- Board Secretariat Team
- Permanent Secretary's Office
- Secretary of State's Office

Declaration of interests and review of minutes from previous meeting:

There were no new declarations of interest. Minutes of the previous meeting held on 13 September 2018 were formally agreed.

Updates from Non-Executive Directors:

Non-Executive Directors gave updates on their activities since the last board meeting.

Review of Defra group finance, performance & risk

Heather Smith, Group Finance Director, introduced the combined finance. performance & risk report, and the Board discussed the results.

EU Exit: no deal preparations

Tamara Finkelstein, Director General for EU Exit Delivery, introduced a paper on EU Exit preparations and the Board discussed preparations for both deal and no deal exits.

Any Other Business

No other matters were raised.