

Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs

Chair: Dr Owen Bowden-Jones 4th Floor (NE), Peel Building 2 Marsham Street London SW1P 4DF Tel: 020 7035 1121

ACMD@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk

13 June 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Call for Evidence – drug-related harms in homeless populations

I am writing to you to request your assistance in relation to the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs' (ACMD) upcoming report on drug-related harms in homeless populations.

The ACMD was commissioned by the Home Secretary to examine the factors that make vulnerable people misuse drugs and, specifically, report on home/beat-factors drug-related harms can be prevented amongst homeless people.

The ACMD is holding an Evidence Gathering Public Meeting on **3 July 2018**; where the members of the Recovery Committee will consider oral evidence from key stakeholders (venue: **in Manchester, venue tbc)**.

The ACMD would like to invite you to submit evidence as part of this. Please confirm whether you are willing to deliver a presentation at the Evidence Gathering Inquiry on 3 July 2018. If you are unable to present there will be further opportunity to submit written evidence to the group.

We would request that presentations are submitted by **28 June 2018** and additional written evidence is submitted by **24 July 2018**. Please forward your evidence, and direct any questions, to Robert Wolstenholme robert.wolstenholme@phe.gov.uk and Matthew Gavin Matthew.Gavin1@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk.

Please note if the ACMD receives a large response to its call for evidence, then a further meeting may be scheduled at a later date to take additional oral evidence.

The Recovery Committee's membership is listed in the Annex. Further details about the ACMD can be found at:

https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/advisory-council-on-the-misuse-of-drugs

I would like to thank you for your assistance in this matter and look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Dr Owen Bowden-Jones

ACMD Chair

Annette Dale-Perera

Anothe Ade-Roos

Recovery Committee Chair

Annex – ACMD Recovery Committee

Membership from the ACMD

Annette Dale-Perera
Dr Kostas Agath
Dr Emily Finch
Dr Tim Millar
Rob Phipps
Professor Harry Sumnall

Co-opted Members

Mike Ashton Mark Gilman Chris Lee Dr Tim Leighton Dr Melanie Smith April Wareham

Secretariat

Steve Taylor Rob Wolstenholme Matthew Gavin Zahi Sulaiman