

John Williams and Gerard Hetherington Vice Chairs of the Corporation Kirklees College Manchester Road Huddersfield HD1 3LD **Rt. Hon. Anne Milton MP** Minister of State for Apprenticeships and Skills and Minister for Women

Sanctuary Buildings 20 Great Smith St, London SW1P 3BT

T +44 (0) 370 000 2288

E <u>enquiries@education.gov.uk</u> <u>www.gov.uk/education</u>

4th December 2017

Dear Mr Williams and Mr Hetherington,

I am writing following the assessment of Kirklees College by the Further Education (FE) Commissioner. The college was referred to the Commissioner following its request for Exceptional Financial Support from Government. The Commissioner's assessment took place from 30th October – 1st November 2017.

It is clear from the Commissioner's report that leadership and governance need to improve in order to achieve financial sustainability and to maintain good quality provision. The swift appointment of a new chair with the skills needed to oversee the development and implementation of a comprehensive financial recovery plan is critical. The Commissioner has made a number of recommendations to support this.

For access to the Restructuring Facility to be considered as a potential solution to addressing the college's high levels of long-term debt, the Commissioner will need to see evidence of strengthened leadership and governance and decisive financial recovery actions at his next stocktake assessment in January 2018.

I have accepted all of the recommendations of the Commissioner and a summary of the initial assessment is provided with this letter. This document and my letter will be published on gov.uk.

Please confirm in writing the actions you are taking to address all of the recommendations, and your timetable for doing so, to the Commissioner at FE.Commissioner@education.gov.uk, within three weeks of receipt of this letter.

If you have any questions about the Commissioner's assessment or this letter, please contact the Commissioner in the first instance. I am copying this letter to MPs: Barry Sheerman; Paula Sherriff; Mary Creagh; Tracey Brabin; Thelma Walker; and Craig Whittaker.

Rt. Hon. Anne Milton MP