The Chief Information Officer Council

The Chief Information Officer (CIO) Council brings together CIOs from across all parts of the public sector to address common IT issues and improve public service delivery.

The Role of the CIO Council

- Acts as a focus for partnership between IT professionals across government
- Has a membership drawn from the wider public sector central government, local government, and agencies in fields such as health and policing.
- Is charged with creating and delivering a government-wide CIO agenda to support the transformation of government and to build capacity and capability in IT-enabled business change
- Balances government-wide agendas with accountabilities in line organisations

The operating model

Council business is conducted on the following basis:

- The Council is chaired by the Government CIO CIO team performs secretariat function
- There are a minimum of three full day meetings per year
- Members attend major meetings in person
- Teleconferences are used between meetings to maintain/steer progress
- Council members operate on a "collective responsibility" basis to steer, own and deliver agreed strategic actions
- Council membership is by invitation of the full Council
- Interactive and action oriented events form the basis of Council activities

CIO Council Composition

John Suffolk (Chair)	Government Chief Information Officer
Jeremy Boss	Audit Commission
Christine Connelly	Connecting for Health
Jos Creese	Hampshire County Council
Richard Earland	National Policing Improvement Agency (NPIA)
Ailsa Beaton	Metropolitan Police
Dr Gwyn Thomas	Welsh Assembly Government
Glyn Evans	Birmingham City Council
Andy Nelson	Ministry of Justice
Martin Bellamy	Ministry of Justice
Michael Herron	Department for Transport (DfT)
Paul Evans	Driver and Vehicle Licensing Authority (DVLA)
Joe Harley, CBE	Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)
Malcolm Whitehouse	Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)
David Jones	Crown Prosecution Service (CPS)
Simon Jones	Department for International Development (DfID)
Tom Kennedy	Department of Finance and Personnel, Northern Ireland
Anne Moises	Scottish Executive
Mark O'Neill	Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)
Phil Pavitt	HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC)
Joan Wood	HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC)
John Taylor	Ministry of Defence (MoD)
Paul Woobey	Office for National Statistics
Tim Wright	Department for Children, Schools and Families
John Callan	Cheshire West & Chester Council and Cheshire East Council
Simon Pitt	Environment Agency