

Navigation Directorate

Trinity House

Trinity House Tower Hill London EC3N 4DH United Kingdom Tel: 020 7481 6900 Fax: 020 7480 7662 www.trinityhouse.co.uk

17 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Our ref: NAV 208417

To: - Attached distribution list

Round Island Lighthouse - Continued Requirement for Fog Signal

Trinity House carried out a consultation with user representative organisations between 27 August and 27 November 2013, regarding the continued navigational requirement for the fog signal at Round Island Lighthouse.

Having carefully considered all the responses received and following an assessment of the risks presented specifically at this location, I can now advise that it has been decided to maintain the fog signal at Round Island Lighthouse.

Yours faithfully,

S. Oamston

Stephen Vanstone – Navigation Services Officer Direct Dial: 0207 4816921 E-mail: <u>stephen.vanstone@thls.org</u>



Distribution List:

Members of THUCC

Stuart Carruthers, Cruising Manager, Royal Yachting Association Bruce Grant, Hon. Secretary, Conference of Yacht Cruising Clubs David Balston, UK Chamber of Shipping Jim Hudson, National Federation of Fishermen's Organisations Tim Wellington, United Kingdom Hydrographic Office Duncan Foster, C-in-C Fleet (MOD) Harry Gale, Nautical Institute Alex Marshall, Royal National Lifeboat Institution Allan Graveson, NAUTILUS

Port & Harbour Authorities

Captain Andrew Brigden, Maritime Manager, Cornwall Council Dugald Sproull, Chairman, Port Isaac Harbour Commissioners Rob Atkinson, Harbour Master, Padstow Harbour Commissioners Captain Mark Capon, Harbour Master, Hayle Harbour Authority Ltd Stephen Bassett, St. Ives Harbour Master, Cornwall Council Dale Clark, Harbour Master, Duchy of Cornwall Edwin Madron, Harbour Master, Mousehole Harbour Authority Captain Andrew Munson, The Clerk & Harbour Master, Newlyn Pier and Harbour Commissioners Neil Clark, Penzance Harbour Master, Cornwall Council Phil Ward, Harbour Master, Porthleven Harbour & Dock Company Captain Tony Lowe, Marine Operations Manager, Falmouth Docks & Engineering Company Mark Sansom, Harbour Master, Falmouth Harbour Commissioners Mark Killingback, Penryn & Truro Harbour Master, Cornwall Council Gary Cairns, Harbour Master, St Mawes Pier & Harbour Company Captain H. St. A. Bowles, Harbour Master, Mevagissev Harbour Trustees Guv Mavhew. Cornwall Non-Operational Sites Senior Supervisor, Imerys Ports Captain Paul Thomas, Harbour Master, Fowey Harbour Commissioners Jeff Penhaligon, Harbour Master, Looe Harbour Commissioners Laurie Birch, Saltash Senior Maritime Assistant, Cornwall Council Pete Bromley, Harbour Master, Sutton Harbour Company Martin Sullivan, Operations Manager, Associated British Ports Plymouth Captain T W Charlesworth, Harbour Master, Cattewater Harbour Commissioners Robert Dearn, Harbour Master, River Yealm Harbour Authority Commander Ian Gibson, Harbour Master, South Hams District Council Rob Giles, Harbour Master, Dart Harbour & Navigation Authority Captain Kevin Mowat, Executive Head Harbour & Marine Services, Torbay Borough Council Commander David Vaughan, Harbour Master & Chief Executive Officer, Teignmouth Harbour Commission Steve Julyan, Team Leader, Exeter City Council Pete Poulson, Harbour Master, Axmouth Harbour Management Company Mr James Radcliffe, West Bay Harbour Master, West Dorset District Council Captain Roger Hoad, Pilot & Harbour Manager, Torridge District Council

Other Representative Organisations and Individuals

Colin Heywood, Cruising Association Terry George, Coxswain, Sennen Cove Royal National Lifeboat Institution Mr Ralph L Tonkin, Local Individual Richard East, Director of pilotage and Pilotage Committee Secretary, Hull Trinity House

Copied for Information

Trevor Harris, Local Seamarks Auditor, Trinity House Paul Townsend, Safety of Navigation Brach, Maritime & Coastguard Agency Simon Millyard, Engineering & Operations Manager, Trinity House Vikki Gilson, Public Relations Manager, Trinity House