

Lord Callanan Co-Chair of the Energy Efficiency Taskforce

15th Aug 2023

Dear Lord Callanan,

I hope the work of the Energy Efficiency Taskforce is making progress. The Committee on Fuel Poverty Committee shared an embargoed copy of the annual report with the Energy Efficiency Taskforce on the 23rd, prior to its publication on the 24^{th.}

The report leads with 5 broad recommendations, which are:

1. Ensure a robust Fuel Poverty Strategy and effective measurement of fuel poverty that leaves no one behind.

2. Improve targeting of payments to support bills and better targeted energy efficiency programmes to meet the government's milestones.

3. Improve affordability of bills through fairer pricing and better regulation to protect the fuel poor.

4. A shared mission to tackle fuel poverty adopted by government, local government and the NHS.

5. A fair transition to net zero that does not increase fuel poverty.

These are underpinned by 19 calls to action.

The annual report can be found through

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/committee-on-fuel-poverty-cfp-annualreport-2023

The recent unprecedented increase in fuel costs has focused attention on paying today's energy bills. In the longer-term part of any sustainable solution is better insulated homes, lowering energy consumption, and overall bills for households. Government has set up the EEFT to advise and work with ministers on cutting total UK energy use by 15% by 2030. In our report we note that the objectives of the taskforce do not explicitly mention fuel poor households. Currently, households with an EPC rating of F or G have fuel costs almost three times higher than households living in a property with an EPC rating of A-C. Therefore, we would urge the EEFT to pay particular attention to fuel poor households when considering its approach and report.

Your personal commitment to energy efficiency delivery is welcome. Poor insulation not only costs more but loses vital energy to support the Government's energy security strategy.

As always, the Committee is happy to meet to discuss or advise as requested.

Yours sincerely,

RT Hon Caroline Flint Chair – Committee on Fuel Poverty

Members: Liz Bisset; Anuradha Singh; Belinda Littleton, Anthony Pygram and Gordon McGregor.