Energy Efficiency Taskforce Steering Group Meeting 1 15 March 2023 10 Downing Street (hybrid)

EETF Co-Chairs:

- Lord Callanan
- Alison Rose DBE

EETF Steering Group:

- Sir John Armitt
- Graham Bell
- Mitesh Dhanak
- Carl Ennis
- David Halpern
- Michael Liebreich
- Simon McWhirter
- Stephen Phipson
- David Postings
- Laura Sandys
- David Thomas (online)
- Professor Will Swan (online)
- Rhian-Mari Thomas (online)
- Emma Pinchbeck (online)
- Adam Scorer (online)

With support by officials from the Department for Energy Security & Net Zero.

Structure, schedule, scope

The EETF Steering Group agreed the leads for the four Working Groups:

- Laura Sandys will lead private-owned residential buildings.
- Simon McWhirter will lead commercial buildings.
- Sir John Armitt will lead social housing and public buildings.
- Michael Liebreich will lead industrial processes.

Barriers and solutions

A range of issues emerged during discussion:

- The importance of operations and decision making, financial and technological risks, regulations and market conditions, supply chain collaboration.
- There is a need to reduce friction to action.
- Any recommended changes will have to be stepwise and scheduled.
- Mythbusting is critical.
- User pathways must be considered.
- There is a need for a strategic place-based approach to skills.